Festival of Learning announces shortlisted award nominees for 2019

22 March 2019


Learning and Work Institute has announced its shortlisted Festival of Learning award nominees for 2019. The shortlisted nominees are:

  • Alex Thomas, City Lit
  • Ashleigh Emmason, Bolton College
  • Charlotte Curran, Lancashire Adult Learning
  • Construction Skills Training Programme, St Mungo’s
  • Cumbria Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dace Mikisite, City Lit
  • Diana Omokore, De Montfort University
  • Emma Searle, Petroc
  • Fiona Pickett, City Lit
  • Janette Lindsey, Adult Learning and Skills Service (Hammersmith and Fulham)
  • Julie Redpath, East Riding of Yorkshire Council
  • Karl Sawyer, University of East London
  • Keoghs Law Firm
  • Linda Slasor, Unison
  • Marie Smith, Adult Education Wolverhampton
  • Martin Merritt, Unison
  • Michael Shakil, Kingston University
  • Nurturing Recovery – supporting vulnerable adults into education and employment through horticulture, Bridgwater and Taunton College
  • Olga Ruda, Oldham Lifelong Learning Service
  • Paul McKivett, Haringey Adult Learning Service
  • Peter Shukie, Blackburn College
  • Rob Darlington, Corndel Ltd
  • Robert Gaunt, Derbyshire Adult Community Education Service
  • Sadie O’Hara, Worcestershire County Council
  • Seong Ngoh Chua, Adult Education Wolverhampton
  • Stuart Ferris, Oldham Lifelong Learning Service
  • Sylvia Rowbottom, City Lit
  • Tia Whelan, Leicester College
  • Trant Engineering Ltd
  • Vicky Seagars, Community Learning and Skills (Kent Adult Education)
  • Voicebox Cafes, Good Things Foundation

Stephen Evans, chief executive at Learning and Work Institute said:

“Festival of Learning award winner stories highlight the many and varied benefits of learning for individuals, communities and businesses.

They also showcase the breadth of learning opportunities available to everyone which can help increase skills, support recovery from health conditions, improve self-confidence, and increase community engagement.”

The Festival of Learning national selection panel, which includes representatives from the Department for Education, NOCN, the Education and Training Foundation, the WEA, Skills and Education Group, City Lit, the Association of Colleges, AELP, Holex and the TUC, will choose the winners on Tuesday 26 March. Winners and finalists will be announced at an awards ceremony on 2 July in London.